LCMH Primary Care Clinic recognized as one of top RHCs in the nation

Lawrence County Memorial Hospital Primary Care Clinic, a Rural Health Clinic (RHC) serving Lawrence County’s 16,000 residents, has been recognized as one of the top rural primary care practices in the United States, according to Lilypad, a Maine-based analytics firm. Lilypad was founded in 2011 to provide mobile and web-based performance improvement applications for healthcare provider organizations and the State Offices of Rural Health (SORH).

The 2021 Lilypad Awards are the first and only ranking program for our nation’s 4,600-plus rural health clinics. The Lilypad Awards recognize RHCs that outperform their rural primary care practice peers in terms of efficiency and operational excellence.

“To be named among the best in the nation is humbling,” said Gene Allen, Director of the Primary Care Clinic, who accredited his team at the LCMH Primary Care Clinic for this success. “The team is dedicated to its community and is always striving to achieve better patient care. We have the most compassionate and caring people on this team, and I, and the entire hospital, are so proud of them and their accomplishments.”

Lawrence County Memorial Hospital Primary Care Clinic was one of five RHCs receiving the provider-based 2021 Lilypad Awards for the Midwest region. These awards utilize data from the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS) to calculate rural-relevant metrics across several areas of service and provide a comprehensive and objective assessment of rural health clinic performance.

Clinics are divided into five geographic regions including the Northwest, Midwest, Northeast, Southwest and Southeast, in the United States and include the two distinct provider types – provider-based RHCs, and independent RHCs.

The remaining provider-based top performing rural health clinics in the United States include: McClaren Primary Care of Ubly, MI; MercyOne Lyons Family Medicine of Lyons, NE; Otsego Medical Center of Otsego, MI; and The Clinic at Walmart of Dexter, MO. Independent RHC winners include: Acute Medical Care of Greencastle, IN; Hillsdale Medical Associates of Hillsdale, MI; Redi-Care of LaGrange, IN; Saint Francis Outpatient Clinic of Dexter, MO; and Sikeston Health Care for All of Sikeston, MO.

Shown are Don Robbins (left), CEO, Lawrence County Memorial Hospital, Steven Ramsaran, Medical Director, and Gene Allen, Clinic Director.