Franklin Hospital CEO Jim Johnson Named Secretary-Treasurer of ICAHN Board

A man smiling in a black suit and dark red tie

Photo above: ICAHN Board of Directors Secretary-Treasurer Jim Johnson

Jim Johnson, CEO, Franklin Hospital District, Benton, was named Secretary-Treasurer of the Illinois Critical Access Hospital Network (ICAHN) Board of Directors during its 2023 annual conference. In his new role, he will support the organization and its mission to strengthen and provide assistance and resources to its 59-member rural hospitals.

“Jim brings a wealth of experience with his fiscal and leadership background to the Secretary/Treasurer position," said Pat Schou, ICAHN Executive Director. “Jim has been active within the ICAHN organization for many years and is often the one who shares his financial strategies and insights with other rural hospital members. He is great to work with.”

Jim has led the Franklin Hospital District since 2016, overseeing an expansion of services, upgrades to facilities and equipment. He has helped to broker partnerships that brought Emergency Department medical staff and obtained and opened the Medical Services building next to the main hospital.

He has been a member of ICAHN’s Finance Committee and its Issues Committee since 2017 and has been involved with or chaired ICAHN’s Chief Financial Officer’s workgroup since 2005.

Jim has served as a member of the Illinois Health and Hospital Association’s PAC Committee since 2016, and the Illinois Health and Hospital Association’s Small and Rural Committee since 2016.

ICAHN hospitals serve as the primary and emergency provider for 1.4 million rural residents across the state of Illinois. ICAHN is dedicated to supporting critical access hospitals throughout Illinois and is committed to ensuring that rural communities have access to high-quality healthcare services. Through advocacy, education, and collaboration, ICAHN has made a significant impact on the healthcare landscape throughout the state.

Located in Princeton, IL, ICAHN is a network of 59 small, rural hospitals dedicated to strengthening the operations of its member hospitals through collaboration. The organization is composed of Illinois hospitals who have earned critical access hospital designation by the Center for Medicare and Medicaid Services and is recognized nationally for its work with rural healthcare, administering several state, federal, and private healthcare programs.