News & Announcements

11 Illinois CAHs honored as most improved


CHAMPAIGN, IL – The Illinois Critical Access Hospital Network (ICAHN) recently recognized 11 CAHs for their ongoing commitment to exceptional quality of care, during a ceremony held November 14th at the I Hotel and Conference Center, Champaign, IL.

As part of the Federal Office of Rural Health Policy Medicare Beneficiary Quality Improvement Program (MBQIP), these critical access hospitals were asked to voluntarily participate in four defined domains of quality outcomes. These four domains include: Patient Safety/Inpatient; Patient Engagement; Care Transitions; and Outpatient Measures.

“Often, in rural hospitals, having a devoted staff member to abstract and submit this data can be both time-consuming and burdensome,” said Angie Charlet, ICAHN Director of Quality, Educational Services, and Compliance. “This hospital realizes how important quality of care and an engaged staff is for its patients…From its top leadership on throughout the facility, each strives for continued quality on a daily basis, and that is what we are celebrating today.”

Among those hospitals recognized for being the most improved over four quarters in any one MBQIP measure or domain are: Crawford Memorial Hospital, Franklin Hospital, Hamilton Memorial Hospital District, Hopedale Medical Complex, Illini Community Hospital, Marshall Browning Hospital, Mason District Hospital, Midwest Medical Center, Pinckneyville Community Hospital District, Taylorville Memorial Hospital, and Warner Hospital & Health Services.